Prior to any European occupation of the area, the land surrounding Del Rio had been called home by Native Americans for over 10,000 years. The first non-Indian residents were the Spanish who established a small mission complex in 1736 near the site of present Ciudad Acuña, Del Rio’s Mexican sister city. Just a few of these Spaniards would settle north of the Rio Grande River, but, no permanent settlement would be established until after the Civil War.
One of the oldest buildings in the community is the 1870 Perry Mercantile Building, which was one of the largest mercantile establishments between San Antonio and El Paso, Texas. It now houses the Whitehead Memorial Museum. A great stop, the museum, situated on three acres, is actually a complex made up of several structures, including a chapel, a reconstructed Jersey Lilly Saloon, and several other buildings, which feature the area’s Spanish, Mexican, American, and Indian history.
Stay tuned as we continue to explore the area, including Judge Roy Bean and Langtry, Texas; the Devil's River, more of the Pecos Heritage Trail, Fort Davis, and lots more.